some questions about non-traditional applicants

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

reichhorn

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a non-traditional student that is considering applying to med school in 2005. I still have a few classes that I need to take, and I plan to take these classes at a local university. I plan to take a MCAT prep. course as well as volunteer/work as much as I can at a local hospital. I have a few questions about the whole process that I thought I would ask:

Are there any known school that favor the non-traditional applicant?

Which medical schools are on the lower end of the admittance spectrum? ( I have good creditials, but I am really concerned about my 3.2 undergrad GPA and I havent taken the MCAT yet). I am mainly interested in a MD degree, but I havent rule out the DO approach.

I have considered taking a post-bacc. program, but the ones that I have looked into seem to be just public universities offering non-degree classes to students. Can anyone recommend a program that is advantageous for a non-traditional student? I am especially interested in linkage programs.

I have heard that some schools will help you prevent the lag time between when you apply to medical school and when you actually start classses. Can someone elaborate on this procedure?

thanks for your time

Members don't see this ad.

reichhorn said:
I am a non-traditional student that is considering applying to med school in 2005. I still have a few classes that I need to take, and I plan to take these classes at a local university. I plan to take a MCAT prep. course as well as volunteer/work as much as I can at a local hospital. I have a few questions about the whole process that I thought I would ask:

Are there any known school that favor the non-traditional applicant?