Need Advice - Go to interview or reapply to state school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HNH96

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

So to start off, when I applied to this cycle I applied to schools that I could see myself at because of my family, the familiarity, or because I loved the school. However, when I applied I was single and thinking just about my current situation.

I had an interview at my state school and was placed on the waiting list (it is my first year applying). To complicate things, in January I got engaged and my fiancé is also applying to dental school for the next cycle. A few days later, I found out the class was filled and that I would have to reapply for next cycle if I wanted to go to my state school. During this whole time, I had only heard from my state school, and I had one other school had declined me. So my thought was that the other three that hadn't gotten back to me at all, were not interested and I could start planning my wedding and making peace with reapplying to the next cycle.

Today I found out that received an interview offer to a school across the country and now I am wondering if I should go and interview. I am very afraid that if I go I would get in, and I would feel like I would have to accept the offer. It makes it complicated because we would have to move our wedding date, I don't know if my fiancé would get in next cycle, and it's so far from home without my support system for at least 6 months as my fiancé graduates undergraduate this december. I graduate this may.

I understand that I may receive so flack for this, but I also understand that it is a huge compliment and I would be grateful to receive an offer. I do not think I would turn it down if I got in.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: